Brazilian Guitar Quartet

With this collection of Brazilian music, the listener embarks on a voyage via guitar transcriptions through the works of Mignone, Oswald, Santoro, Guarnieri and Miranda. Inspired by traditional classical forms, dance rhythms and passionate ethnic influences this exciting release offers a unique opportunity to experience the drama that is Brazil. One of the world’s most sought-after guitar ensembles, The Brazilian Guitar Quartet was formed to explore the new possibilities offered by combining traditional six-string instruments with the eight-string guitar developed by quartet member Paul Galbraith. Each member is a performer and scholar in his own right, the Brazilian Guitar Quartet members: Paul Galbraith, Edelton Gloeden, Everton Gloeden and Tadeu do Amaral tour regularly, bringing their incredible artistry and accessible music to a global audience … and a concert hall near you!

Program includes: 
Francisco Mignone (1897-1986): Congada; Lenda Sertaneja No. 8 
Camargo Guarnieri (1907-1993): Encantamento; Quarteto No. 2 
Claudio Santoro (1919-1989): Frevo 
Ronaldo Miranda (b.1948): Serious Variations 
Henrique Oswald (1852-1931): Il Neige…!; Tarantella Op, 14 No. 3.