Janos Starker Celebration 

Schubert and Boccherini String Quintets 

Janos Starker, cello 
Soovin Kim, violin 
Kurt Nikkanen, violin 
Kirsten Johnson, viola 
Zuill Bailey, cello 
Celebrate with Delos the 80th Birthday of The King of Cellists – Janos Starker. This live performance by the legendary cellist and his guests was captured at the February 28, 2004 El Paso Pro Musica festival concert honoring Starker and featuring the Boccherini String Quintet in C Major and the Schubert String Quintet in C Major. These works have a long and loving history for Starker, and he and his colleagues artfully weave the dual perspectives of youthful vitality and deep introspection into vibrant performances. Both of these significant works also showcase the exceptional talents of world-renowned cellist Zuill Bailey who is also the guest producer of this important release. Janos Starker handpicked this program, and it is no accident that each piece features two cellos. Not only does this disc highlight Starker’s talent and his beloved instrument, it also offers a symbolic passing of the torch to his younger colleagues and reveals his dedication to young talent. Given that Janos Starker is performing less frequently, each of his concerts is an experience to be cherished. His purity of expression, pristine virtuosity and artistic integrity result in a sound and style that is instantly recognizable.
Luigi Boccherini (1743-1805): String Quintet in C Major, G. 349 – Andante con moto; Minuetto con grazia; Trio -Minuetto da capo; Allegro assai; Rondeau – Allegretto moderato 
Franz Schubert (1797-1828): String Quintet in C Major, D. 956 – Allegro ma non troppo; Adagio; Scherzo – Presto – Trio – Andante sostenuto; Allegretto