Internationally renowned (and GRAMMY-award winning) conductor Ragnar Bohlin founded Cappella SF, a professional chamber choir, in 2014. Since then, this select Bay Area-based ensemble has presented four concerts to tremendous critical acclaim and recorded music for two CDs – including this, their first commercial release. With Cappella SF, maestro Bohlin strives to showcase the choral riches of all musical periods at the highest artistic level. And concertgoers lucky enough to have heard them in concert will confirm that this superb new choir is doing just that.

This marvelous holiday program, with music spanning more than a millennium, has something for everybody. In addition to beloved traditional seasonal standards in striking arrangements, listeners will also take great delight in both original compositions and arrangements from top-tier English and American composers as well as leading choral masters from Bohlin’s native country of Sweden – to include a piece composed for Cappella SF by Fredrik Sixten that’s heard here in its world premiere recording.


  1. Veni, veni, Emmanuel, arr. Ragnar Bohlin (1:51)
  2. Michael Praetorius: Psallite unigenito (1:35)
  3. Lo, how a Rose, arr. Mårten Jansson (3:43)
  4. In dulci jubilo, arr. Bartholomeus Gesius and J.S. Bach (1:28)
  5. Silent Night, arr. Hanns Miessner (3:23)
  6. Ding, dong! Merrily on high, arr. Sir David Willcocks (1:54)
  7. Benjamin Britten: Balulalow (1:27)
  8. Britten: This little babe (1:34)
  9. The first Nowell, arr. Willcocks (5:05)
  10. John Rutter: Candlelight carol (4:15)
  11. Audete, gaudete, arr. Ward Swingle (1:28)
  12. Fredrik Sixten: There is no rose (5:46)
  13. Sixten: The song of the star* (1:35)
  14. Folke Bohlin: Look! Shepherds of Bethlehem (3:19)
  15. Gustaf Nordqvist: Jul, jul, strålande jul (2:59)
  16. David Conte: Patapan (1:33)
  17. Conte: O magnum mysterium (3:20)
  18. Eric Whitacre: Lux aurumque (4:07)
  19. Go tell it on the mountain, arr. Ragnar Bohlin (1:45)
  20. Have yourself a merry little Christmas, arr. Barlow Bradford (4:56)

* World premiere recording