Michael McGlynn: Celtic Mass

James MacMillan: Mass

Taylor Festival Choir — Robert Taylor, conductor

With this album, Delos offers lovely, skillfully rendered and ear-grabbing accounts of two very different and profoundly spiritual treatments of the Catholic Mass by Irish composer Michael McGlynn and the Scottish master Sir James MacMillan.

Both works reflect their creators’ strong Celtic roots. McGlynn’s Celtic Mass intersperses sections in Irish between the traditional Latin elements. MacMillan’s Mass sets the traditional movements in English, and adds other liturgical texts that make the work suitable for use as a stand-alone service.

Dr. Robert Taylor’s internationally acclaimed Taylor Festival Choir has earned a firm reputation as being one of America’s most distinguished professional choirs – a reputation confirmed by this glowing recording.



    McGlynn: Celtic Mass (28:33)

  1. Kyrie (2:04)
  2. Gloria (4:01)
  3. Responsorial: Codhlaím go Súan (3:52)
  4. Credo (6:36)
  5. Alleluia: Incantations (1:20)
  6. Ave Maria (2:34)
  7. Sanctus (3:29)
  8. Pater Noster (2:18)
  9. Agnus Dei (2:16)
  10. MacMillan: Mass (39:04)

  11. Celebrant: Brandon Hendrickson
  12. Kyrie (7:29)
  13. Gloria (7:14)
  14. Alleluia (1:41)
  15. Sursum Corda (0:43)
  16. Preface of the Holy Eucharist II (2:05)
  17. Sanctus and
  18. Benedictus (4:55)
  19. Eucharistic Prayer (3:54)
  20. Memorial Acclamation (5:24)
  21. Agnus Dei (5:35)

[soundcloud url=”https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/274538131″ params=”auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false&visual=true” width=”100%” height=”300″ iframe=”true” /]

Taylor Festival Choir

Robert Taylor, conductor; Tina Zenker Williams, soprano; Kori Miller, soprano; Ansley Lucas, contralto; Emmalee Hinson, mezzo-soprano; Esther Rose Williams, mezzo-soprano; Michael Sheaffer, tenor; Brandon Hendrickson, baritone