Mendelssohn: Octet; Sextet

The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center

Cho-Liang Lin, Peter Winograd, Carmit Zori, Ani Kavafian, violins
Toby Hoffman, Paul Neubauer, violas
Gary Hoffman, Fred Sherry, cellos
David Golub, piano
Edgar Meyer, bass

For over four decades, The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center has offered concerts of every instrumentation, style and historical period, at its permanent home in Alice Tully Hall. As featured on “Live From Lincoln Center,” The Society – structured as a core of Artist Members augmented by invited guests – gives performances of music dating from the Renaissance to the current century. In its long partnership with Delos, The Society has brought several recordings to the listening public. This exciting release – Mendelssohn’s Octet and Sextet for Piano and Strings – gives this gifted ensemble an opportunity to shine with these intimate and romantic works. The Octet, which dates from 1825, transcends the chamber genre with its symphonic style, while the Sextet – published posthumously as Op. 110 – is a showpiece for the piano, and closely resembles a concerto.

Octet in E-flat for strings, Op. 20 
Sextet in D for violin, 2 violas, cello, bass and piano, Op. 110