“…the elegance and immaculate suaveness of a Heifetz or Oistrakh” — Natal Daily News

Distinguished South African violinist Piet Koornhof’s fifth recording for Delos highlights (in keeping with the title) virtuoso showpieces for his instrument, both well-known and rare.

In this 2-CD set, Piet tackles some of the most brilliant and technically challenging repertoire for violin ever written. We hear glittering masterpieces by fabled masters of the instrument: Henryk Wienawski, Fritz Kreisler, and Eugene Ÿsaye. On the more rarely performed side, we get highly worthwhile violin treasures by, among others, Glazunov, Kroll, Taneyev, Rota, and Karayev – as well as a particularly fascinating cycle by Eduard Toldrà.

Piet’s jaw-dropping virtuosity and ery interpretations are sensitively supported by his compatriot, pianist Bernarda Vorster. Together they have crafted a beautifully performed program that will appeal in particular to violinists and fans of the instrument, as well as an awe- inspiring listening experience for the rest of us.



  1. Henryk Wieniawski: Polonaise de Concert in D major, Op. 4 (7:07)
  2. Alexander Glazunov: Meditation, Op. 32 (3:41)
  3. William Kroll: Banjo and Fiddle (2:59)
  4. Balys Dvarionas: Pezzo Elegiaco (Elegy) (6:21)
  5. Henryk Wieniawski: Polonaise Brillante in A major, Op. 21 (10:11)
  6. Myroslav Skoryk: Melody from the lm The High Mountain Pass (3.37)
  7. Dmitri Kabalevsky: Rondo, Op. 69 (7:39)
  8. Sergei Taneyev: Romance, Op. 26, No. 6 (4:01)
  9. Fritz Kreisler: Tambourin Chinois (3:55)
  10. Myroslav Skoryk: Spanish Dance (4:31)
  11. Nino Rota: Improvviso (6:24)
  12. Kara Karayev: Waltz from the ballet The Seven Beauties (4:04)
  13. Henryk Wieniawski: Scherzo Tarantelle, Op. 16 (5.02)


Eduard Toldrà: The Six Sonnets

  1. Sonetí de la Rosada (Sonnet to the Dew) (4:24)
  2. Ave Maria (5:36)
  3. Les Birbadores (The Gleaners) (2:37)
  4. Oració al Maig (Supplication to the Month of May) (4:25)
  5. Dels Quatre Vents (From the Four Winds) (2:00)
  6. La Font (The Spring) (4:15)
  7. Eugene Ÿsaye:

  8. Sonata for solo violin No. 3, Ballade (6:36)

[soundcloud url=”https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/233618711″ params=”auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false&visual=true” width=”100%” height=”450″ iframe=”true” /]