A Lullaby Album for Children and Adults
Carol Rosenberger Bosendorfer Imperial Concert Grand Piano

This program is designed to help listeners find a ‘quiet time’ of non-stressful, contemplative relaxation. Its selection of short, melodic pieces also serves as an ideal introduction to the world of classical music

“A splendid disc, to be treasured by young and old,” – American Record Guide

“The perfect gift among recordings for introducing a child to the intimacies and universality of music.” – Fanfare

“The world’s loveliest piano music, beautifully programmed to help people of all ages find an inner core of tranquillity.” – Keynote

The program of Perchance to Dream moves from simple, lyrical pieces, many written for beginning pianists, to more profound works like the Adagio cantabile of Beethoven’s Pathetique Sonata and Brahms’ Intermezzo Op. 117, No. 1. In our high-tech, computerized, accelerating age, the need for a time of relaxation – a period to reflect, or simply to experience a sense of calm – is more important than ever. Work and other responsibilities have a way of overtaking more elemental pleasures – like time spent with loved ones, or in solitude. Yet finding this “quiet time” need not be difficult, and it is partly with this in mind that this musical program is offered. The selections chosen here – accessible, melodious pieces by great composers – speak to all ages. For children, they may form a gateway to a world not yet explored – that of concert music. For their elders, they may generate fond recollections, like old friends who have not lost their power to inspire or comfort. They also may act as a bond between parents and children, providing a peaceful background for a time of intimacy, storytelling, and shared experience. – Steven C. Smith (from the booklet notes)

TCHAIKOVSKY: My dear little Mother (Mein Mutterlein)
MOZART: Andante from Sonata in C, K. 545
*Erinnerung (Remembrance)
* Sehr langsam (Very Slowly)
* Abendlied (Evening Song)
* Schlummerlied (Slumber Song)
* Mignon
* Des Abends (Evening)
FAURE: Berceuse Op. 56 No. 1
* Prelude Op. 28 No. 7 in A Major
* Mazurka Op. 68 No. 2 in A Minor
HAYDN: Adagio from Sonata in F Major, Hob XVI:23
* Sinfonia V in E-Flat Major
* Prelude I in C Major from the Well-Tempered Clavier
* Aria in G Major from the Goldberg Variations
SCHUBERT: Andante from Sonata in A Major, Op. 120, D. 664
BRAHMS: Intermezzo Op. 117 No. 1
* Bagatelle op. 119 No. 11
* Adagio Cantabile from Sonata op. 13 (Pathetique)