Reinventing Guitar II

Smaro Gregoriadou

Reinventing Guitar is “… a guitar edition that changes the flow of the history of the instrument.” Thus did Jazz & Tzaz describe Smaro Gregoriadou’s pioneering first album for Delos. She now continues her groundbreaking mission in Reinventing Guitar II.

Smaro’s extensive research has revealed significant differences between the modern classical guitar and those of the Renaissance and Baroque periods – encompassing instrumental design and construction, string materials used, number of string courses, wide-ranging tuning schemes, etc. Such extensive variants make for a broad array of tonal qualities and colors as well as different technical and interpretive approaches.

Playing modern replicas of period instruments built by luthier Yorgos Kertsopoulos, Smaro performs transcriptions of well-known music by Bach, Handel and Scarlatti with exceptional skill and panache. Such “reinvented” guitars enable her to demonstrate many different tonal and interpretive possibilities of the period that – until now – have gone unheard. This release – as Classical Sentinel said of her first album – is certain to become “A fascinating CD for any classical music enthusiasts; a definite must-have for any serious classical guitar fans.”

  • Featuring world premiere recordings of classical standards as you’ve never heard them before
  • Extensive, highly detailed notes, charts, illustrations and reference materials including a reference track (track 15) featuring an analytical presentation of all tunings
  • A fascinating foray into the history of instrumental design, interpretation and sound that will excite any serious guitar aficionado or general classical fan

Track Listing:

Domenico Scarlatti (1685-1757)

  • 5 Harpsichord Sonatas Sonatas
    • K322/L483 in A major
    • K1/L366 in D minor
    • K481/L187 in F minor
    • K198/L22 in E minor*
    • K491/L164 in D major*

J.S.Bach (1685-1750)

  • Preludio, Fuga e Allegro in E-flat major, BWV 998
  • Toccata in E minor, BWV 914

George Frideric Handel (1685-1759)

  • Air and Variations “The Harmonious Blacksmith” (from Suite No.5 in E major, HWV 430)*
  • Chaconne No.2 in G major, HWV 435

Reference Track

  • Analytical presentation of all tunings; samples of program pieces performed on the standard classical guitar in nylon trebles and ordinary tuning

All works arr. Gregoriadou for double-course pedal guitar& single-stringed scalloped pedal guitar (soprano/alto version)

*: recording premieres

Listen to Volume 1 on Spotify, and purchase direct from Delos!