Delos Music Library Collection
Music is an invitation to explore a particular terrain, experience a certain mood or even take part in an adventure. When composers provide programmatic titles for their compositions, that terrain, mood or adventure comes to life perhaps more readily than when the score is without such signposts. We have, therefore, added descriptive titles to some of the works collected here in order to guide the listener along paths that seem to have a common destination: that place in the heart where tenderness and intimacy reside. As you listen to this music you may find yourself swathed in the romantic glow of a rustic fireside. You may find that your emotions are inexplicably mercurial or that your mind has taken rapturous flight. Go, then and perhaps celebrate love along Shakespeare’s riverbank, his words whispering within: ‘How sweet the moonlight sleeps upon this bank! Here we will sit, and let the sounds of music creep in our ears: soft stillness and the night become the touches of sweet harmony.’

Chapter One: Sentimental Evening Schumann: Adagio and Allegro, Op. 70, Allegro
Chapter Two: Remember Rachmaninoff: Prelude in E-Flat, Op. 23, No. 6
Chapter Three: Nocturne Grieg: Nocturne
Chapter Four: Love’s Reverie Debussy: Reverie
Chapter Five: Invitation Saint-Saens: Trio No. 2 in E Minor, Op. 92, Andante
Chapter Six: Longing Goldmark: Violin Concerto, Air
Chapter Seven: Intermezzo Dvorak: Intermezzo (Notturno)
Chapter Eight: The Lover’s Touch Chopin: Nocturne in E-Flat, Op. 55, No. 2
Chapter Nine: The Lover’s Voice Gliere: The Red Poppy, Phoenix
Chapter Ten: Rapture Dohnanyi:Konzertstuck, II
Chapter Eleven: Passion by the Fireside Strauss: Reverie by the Fireside from Intermezzo
Chapter Twelve: Romeo & Juliet Prokofiev: Romeo & Juliet, balcony scene

also available in the Delos Music Library Collection Mystery Classics – DE 1601 Western Classics – DE 1603