Sean Hickey: Cello and Clarinet Concertos

Composer Sean Hickey

Dmitry Kouzov, cello • Alexander Fiterstein, clarinet • Vladimir Lande, conductor • St. Petersburg Orchestras

“He writes tonal, highly rhythmic music that’s easily grasped. Clarity, immediacy of expression, precise craftsmanship and a tannic, neoclassic bite are virtues…”

Thus did The Detroit Free Press respond to Left at the Fork in the Road, Sean Hickey’s 2005 debut album on Naxos. Listeners can expect to have similar reactions to his first release for Delos, containing his engaging and beautifully crafted concertos.

In his Concerto for Cello and Orchestra, the composer seeks to “… fuse my interest in neo-classical clarity and design with what I feel is the songful, heroic nature of the greatest cello concerto literature.” The work’s heart lies in its highly effective central movement: a potent and chilling evocation of the “anguish of the innocent people in war’s crossfire” – the composer’s response to the recent conflict in Iraq.

New Music Connoisseur describes Hickey’s Concerto for Clarinet and String Orchestra as being “… packed (with) many ideas … without ever digressing from a solid thematic core. The second of the three movements was unique in effect, a restless, yet haunting recollection of life in the US heartland, while the frenzied finale was all metropolitan New York.”

Both works get expert, inspired, and well-recorded performances from Maestro Vladimir Lande, featuring renowned cellist Dmitry Kouzov and vaunted clarinet virtuoso Alexander Fiterstein with excellent St. Petersburg Orchestras.

  • Unique and engaging new concertos from emerging composer Sean Hickey
  • Accessible and beautifully crafted music in neo-classical style
  • Inspired, well-recorded performances from stellar soloists with expert orchestral support

Track Listing

    Concerto for Cello and Orchestra

  1. I.
  2. II.
  3. III.
  4. Concerto for Clarinet and Orchestra

  5. I.
  6. II.
  7. III.