“…a composer of undoubted sincerity and ability” —Musicweb International

Robert Nelson is a wonderfully inventive and stylistically versatile composer known for his prolific output and his forays into a broad range of musical idioms. Many of his creations feature artful fusions of classical, jazz and even hard rock. He has a particular affinity for vocal music of all kinds: operas snd choral creations – as well as the art song, as exemplified in this stunning release.

The songs offered here – in Nelson’s first album for Delos – reflect these musical characteristics and more, as well as his richly expressive palette encompassing a remarkable range of emotions and moods from somber and haunting to humorous. We are treated to two song cycles – Zoo Stories and the title work, Watercolors – as well as seven other songs presented in pairs or as substantial individual works.

The internationally acclaimed mezzo-soprano Sonja Bruzauskas heads a diverse and accomplished cast of collaborators in works accompanied either by piano or by varying chamber ensembles composed of gifted performers on violin, viola, cello, clarinet, horn and oboe.

Track List:

  1. Sapphire (Text by Randolph Lacy)
  2. Bowls (Texts by Ava Leavell Haymon)
  3. Two Cabaret Songs (Texts by Friedrich Hollaender)

  4. Abzählen
  5. Mit Einer Scheusslichen Puppe
  6. Two Love Lyrics

  7. What Is Love? (Text by William Shakespeare)
  8. A Valentine (Text by E.E. Cummings)
  9. Zoo Stories (Original Stories by Kate Pogue)

  10. The Giraffe, the Elephant, and the Gorilla
  11. The Goose and the Dapper Red Fox
  12. The Long Walk
  13. Watercolors (Texts by Ava Leavell Haymon)

  14. Lesson i
  15. Lesson ii
  16. Lesson iii
  17. Lesson iv
  18. Watercolor: Two Rockers on a Sun Porch